Introducing the senior staff at the Global Poverty Project, including CEO Hugh Evans.

Senior Leadership Team

Hugh Evans, Chief Executive Officer

Hugh Evans is a humanitarian and an internationally renowned development advocate. Hugh founded the Oaktree Foundation and was a leader in the Australian Make Poverty History campaign. Hugh holds a law and science degree and has completed a Masters in International Relations at the University of Cambridge, UK. Hugh currently lives in New York with his wife Tanyella.

Simon Moss, Managing Director – Programs

Simon Moss is a campaigning and community education expert. He has contributed on development issues at some of the world’s leading conferences including the G20, the World Economic Forum and the Clinton Global Initiative. He was previously Chief Operations Officer of aid and development agency the Oaktree Foundation, and he holds Master of Development Studies from the University of Melbourne. He lives in New York with his wife Rachel.

Wei Soo, Managing Director – Operations

Wei Soo comes from a background in tax consulting and tax litigation and is admitted to practice as a barrister and solicitor in the Supreme Court of Victoria, Australia. He has worked at PriceWaterhouseCoopers and has considerable experience in social justice related causes, having held senior positions within the Oaktree Foundation.

Wei holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Finance) and a Bachelor of Laws from Murdoch University.

Jane Atkinson, Chief of Staff

Jane has been a communications adviser to high net worth individuals and companies for over 35 years. She specialises in developing and managing communications strategy and has been involved in international and national communications projects. Jane has a comprehensive understanding of all aspects of reputation management and has worked alongside Chairman and Chief Executives and was media adviser to the late Diana, Princess of Wales.

Global Leadership Team

Together with our senior leadership team, the Global Leadership Team comprises of:

  • Justine Lucas, Programs Director.
  • Stephen Brown, UK Country Director.
  • Dominic Mishio, Canada Country Director.
  • Mick Sheldrick, Senior Manager, Policy & Advocacy.

Advisory Board Members

We are grateful to the members of our advisory board for their support: Ann Edelberg, JR Kerr, Jennifer Duberstein, Marcie Allen, Mark Shulman, Randall Lane, Will Botwin, Shakil Kahn, Eric Ortner, Michael McDonald, Marissa Sackler.

For information on board members and governance structures, see the governance section.